Tuesday, March 31, 2009

India's Seven Wonders

Incredible Seven Wonders of India.

The rich heritage of India is revealed in a campaign by organized jointly by the Government of India and the NDTV. The Red Fort of India (first photo, left) constructed by Emperor Shah Jahan in 1639 AD, Jaisalamer Fort (Rajasthan) also known as the “Golden Fort”, Nalanda University (Bihar), a Buddhist center of learning, also the greatest center of learning in the world with the famous 9-storied library, Sun Temple of Konark (Orissa), also a UNESCO World Heritage site of Kalinga architecture, Meenakshi Temple (Tamilnadu) built between the 16th and 18th century (photo, right), Dholavira (Gujarat) (second photo, left) and Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh) built over 100o years ago (third photo, left).

This was a mammoth task of identifying the final 7 from a total of 200 places as well as perusing a history of more than 5000 years. All the States were grouped under 7 clusters and from each cluster seven wonders were identified. A top wonder from each of these clusters was then selected as nominee for each of the seven State clusters. This campaign helped to bring forth some important and majestic monuments, temples, a mausoleum as well an ancient University representing India’s rich and varied heritage. The final selection was made by a distinguished jury of India’s eminent personalities.

The study to identify these landmarks and great monuments started way back in September 2008 and has successfully brought out the country’s rich heritage both manmade as well as natural. The committee identified seven top wonders in each State and from these sites, the final site in each State mentioned above was declared.

These exquisite sites demand immediate restorative measures in order to preserve them for posterity.

Source: The Hindu, March 31, 2009
Image: Google

0 comments on "India's Seven Wonders"



Is it true? Copyright 2008 Fashionholic Designed by Ipiet Templates Supported by Tadpole's Notez Blogger Templates